Blogs, Dyslexia, Information page, reading and writing using a computer course

Pasionate

I am passionately involved in the study of dyslexia. I was fortunately given the chance to join a writers group in 2010 there were three retired school teachers.

The chairman a retired head master and head of English. The process was everybody wrote a story and handed copies to all the other members and then read aloud to the group. I in due course read my story.  Then a lady member shouted I’m not even going to try to read this rubbish. The chairman shouted at her, ‘Say no more’ then asked, ‘if I was dyslexic?’  ‘Yes’.

From then on the whole group have worked with me teaching me how to edit my own and their work over a four and three quarter years I being the youngest at now 78. It took some time to understand the difference between reading the story and editing the story for others to be able to read.

Many questions arose over this period. One was the discussion on the length of a paragraph I found their paragraphs were too long and caused losing my place they found my paragraphs were too short but it did not affect the story. I wrote my book “Backs to the Wall 1939” Amazon kindle using writing techniques learned over the last four and three-quarter years. It is for Dyslexic children and adults over 12 years.

A conversation one day triggered off re-search into new-born babies communicating without speech another about two young sisters totally opposite then I applied my new knowledge many links clearly showed potential Dyslexia at two year old and later at school she came home with a story. My teacher can’t read this so I will read it to you a (retired teacher). there were at least 15 spellings wrong including Bcoz the point being she read the words correctly. I would like to verify this by testing others using a simple conversation. With the parents and children, the conversations could take place through Facebook or e-mails.

A research unit run by a dyslexic person is a possibility? A dyslexic person is a visionary person. Who can see each side and beyond the box. To see why and how things work

I have read many pamphlets and books on dyslexia, only to be disappointed that most of them are only interested in publishing statistics. That has no meaning for a dyslexic person who has difficulty with reading and comprehension.   Rather than working type Question and answer book of their particular problems produced by a re-search unit. I would appreciate your views. Good luck and Best wishes Ray.

Standard

Leave a Reply

