blog201, Comments, Dyslexia, Publishing, Young Families with dyslexic children

Communication without Words

Communicating without Words

This is parents communicating with new-born babies. Have a little think about it. You read their facial expressions even though they don’t know any words. They indicate when they need feeding, changing or had enough to eat by spiting it out or fall asleep when finished drinking. They enjoy receiving attention when they are fully awake. And smile when they feel safe. Also turn away if they don’t like a person.

They take in everything they see, in a soft voice tell them the name of what they’re looking at. This is when they start remembering the sound of words and names.

I use to take my granddaughter out in a buggy when she was only one and talk to her all the time we were out. People often commented he is talking to baby.  A year later I had a wonderful reward from my 2 year old when she said ‘Stop this is the tree where you showed me the birdies home it is up there,’ and she was right. There was a lady passing at the time. She stopped’ ‘How does she know that.’ A little voice said Because Grandad talks to me all the time he showed me this tree and the birdies home I have a home like the birdies. And he listens to me when I tell him about my dolly and we play shops.

I returned as if I was walking on air she is 18 now and at university and today she mentioned a story I told her when she was 5 about the man in the white bow tie. And the time I helped her to ride her bike and how she nearly run over me. And the funny looks people gave us when I was in the buggy.

Standard

Leave a Reply

