blog201, poems

The Ballad

This is a ballad I learned over seventy years ago during times in the air raid shelters. A man would play the fiddle and we all joined in with the singing and the chorus.
Because it is in dialect I will explain a few words
Cundie is a rain water runoff leading into a shallow stream.
Iron penker is a large steel ball bearing which you roll
Double raay is houses built back to back
Sout to seek or collect
Claseprop a washing post to support the washing line in the middle
Wadent would not
Powder explosives
chorus
Oh ah lost me iron penker
Oh ah lost me iron penker
Oh ah lost me iron penker
Doon the double raay
Verse
Yes I lost it up the cundie
Yes I lost it up the cundie
Yes I lost it up the cundie
Doon the double raay

Chorus
Verse
So ah went and sout a claseprop
So ah went and sout a claseprop
So ah went and sout a claseprop
Doon the double raay

Chorus
Verse
But still that wadent fetch it
But still that wadent fetch it
But still that wadent fetch it
Doon the double raay

Chorus
Verse
So ah went and sout wor Geordy
So ah went and sout wor Geordy
So ah went and sout wor Geordy
Doon the double raay

Chorus
Verse
And I tied him to the claseprop
And I tied him to the claseprop
And I tied him to the claseprop
Doon the double raay

Chorus
Verse
But still that wadent fetch it
But still that wadent fetch it
But still that wadent fetch it
Doon the double raay

Chorus

Oh ah went and sout some powder
Oh ah went and sout some powder
And now there is no cundie
Doon the double raay

Standard

Leave a Reply

